Full Stop: I Never Stopped, But I Did Narrow My Focus

Sharai
5 min readDec 29, 2022

This Medium page has been through it these last three years. This was originally created out of spite because I was writing under the King Of Misogynoir, who kept sitting on my articles until they were old news. This tactic meant I couldn’t find them other homes. He would also put little problematic digs in his email responses that would eventually cost him the only two Black women who ever tried writing for his site. However, as his mother should have told him as a child, he is not important to anyone’s story.

After the immediate creation out of spite, like most things I have ever created, it shifted to me learning how to be better at something. I started writing things I did not want to pitch to the places I was miserably writing for at the time. I started figuring out that in my corner of the internet, I don’t have to sugarcoat my truths to make them more palatable to people who are going to just piss on them anyway. I started writing listicles because I like recommending stuff to people, which allowed me to hit more of my friends at once. Then I started noticing people who are not my friends were interacting with me here too, and that’s when it should’ve gotten fucking cool. However, COVID showed up instead. This became a place that I tried to update with recommendations while laying in my bed being reminded that there were still forms of trauma I…

--

--

Sharai

Playwright/Dramaturg/Freelancer. Queen of the nerds. Lover of mediocre cheese and cheap drinks. Recovering coffee addict. Habitually tweets about TV. (she/hers)